# The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities



20/01/2017

#### CONGRESS MONITORING VISIT TO SWITZERLAND Bern, Zürich and Oetwil an der Limmat (23-25 January 2017)

# DRAFT PROGRAMME

Rapporteur on local democracy Chamber of local authorities, ILDG<sup>1</sup> First Deputy Mayor, Uccle (Belgium)

Rapporteur on regional democracy Chamber of Regions, EPP/CCE<sup>2</sup>

Mayor of Chișinău (Republic of Moldova)

Co-secretary to the Monitoring Committee

Member of the Group of Independent Experts on

the European Charter of Local Self-Government (France)

**Congress delegation:** 

Rapporteurs:

Mr Marc COOLS

Mr Dorin CHIRTOACA

Congress Secretariat:

Ms Stéphanie POIREL Secretary to the Monitoring Committee

Ms Svitlana PEREVERTEN

Consultant:

Mr André ROUX

Interpreters:

Ms Séverine VITALI	23-25 January 2017
Ms Astrid KRUEGER	23-24 January 2017
Ms Viola MAND	25 January 2017

The working language of the meeting will be French. Interpretation from and into German will be provided.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> ILDG: Independent Liberal Democrat Group in the Congress

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> EPP/CCE: European People's Party Group in the Congress

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe / Le Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux du Conseil de l'Europe F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex - Tel: +33 (0)388412110 - Fax: +33 (0)388413747 - Email: congress.adm@coe.int - Web: www.coe.int/congress

## Monday 23 January 2017 Bern

09:00 - 11:30	Joint meeting with the members of the National Delegation of Switzerland to the Congress, the Conference of cantonal governments, the Association of Swiss Municipalities and the Swiss Union of Cities and Towns:
	Swiss delegation to the Congress:
	<ul> <li>Mr Beat HIRS, Head of the Swiss delegation to the Congress, Gemeindepräsident von Rorschacherberg, member of the Association of Swiss Municipalities</li> <li>Mr David ERAY, Minister of environment, Republic and Canton of Jura, Vice-president of the Swiss delegation to the Congress</li> <li>Ms Marie GARNIER, Conseillère d'Etat du canton de Fribourg</li> <li>Ms Marianne HOLLINGER, Présidente de la commune d'Aesch</li> <li>Mr Dario GHISLETTA, Conseiller municipal suppléant de la ville de Bellinzona</li> <li>Mr Laurent WEHRLI, Syndic of the community of Montreux and National councilor</li> <li>Ms Christine CHEVALLEY, Syndic de Veytaux, Canton de Vaud, member of the Association of Swiss Municipalities</li> </ul>
	Conference of cantonal governments:
	<ul> <li>Dr. Sandra MAISSEN, Secretary general of the Conference</li> <li>Mr Roland MAYER, Deputy secretary general, Head of foreign policy division of the Conference</li> <li>Mr Luca GOBBO, Deputy Cantonal Liaison Officer in the Directorate for European Affairs, Representative of the Conference</li> </ul>
	Swiss Union of Cities and Towns:
	- Mr Martin TSCHIRREN, Deputy Director of the Swiss Union of Cities and Towns
12:00 - 12.45	City Council of Bern:
	<ul> <li>Mr Alec von GRAFFENRIED, Mayor of Bern</li> <li>Dr. Jürg WICHTERMANN, Chancellor/Chief Administrative Officer of the City of Bern</li> </ul>
14:00 - 15:00	Meeting with the representatives of the Republic and Canton of Jura:
	Government:
	<ul> <li>Ms Nathalie BARTHOULOT, President of the Government and Minister of Interior</li> <li>Mr David ERAY, Vice-president of the Government and Minister of Environment</li> </ul>
	Parliament:
	<ul> <li>Mr Frédéric LOVIS, President of the Parliament</li> <li>Ms Anne FROIDEVAUX, President of Christian Democrats group</li> <li>Ms Murielle MACCHI-BERDAT, President of Socialist group</li> <li>Mr Damien LACHAT, President of the Swiss People's Party</li> <li>Ms Géraldine BEUCHAT, President of the Independent Social Christian party (PCSI)</li> </ul>

- 15:30 16:30 Federal Department of Justice and Police and Federal Department of Home Affairs:
  - Prof. Dr. Luzius MADER, Director deputy, Federal Office of Justice
  - Dr. Robert BAUMANN, Senior Advisor, Federal Office of Justice, member of CDDG
  - Ms Stéphanie CATTANEO ANDREY, Substitute of the Head of the Section culture and society, Federal Office of Culture, Federal Department of Home Affairs

17:00 - 18:00 Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC):

- Ms Maria LEZZI, Head of the Federal Office for Spatial Development
- Ms Silvia JOST, Responsable affaires internationales, Office fédéral du développement territorial

#### Tuesday 24 January 2017 Bern

- 09:30 10:30 Swiss Federal Audit Office:
  - Mr Michel HUISSOUD, Director
- 11:00 12:00 Swiss Parliament:
  - Mr Heinz BRAND, President of the Political Institutions Committees (National Council) CIP
  - **Ms Ruth LÜTHI**, deputy secretary of CIP
  - Ms Marija STOSIC, University intern, International relations, secretariat of the national delegation of Switzerland to PACE

#### 12:00 - 13:30 Lunch at the invitation of Mr Ivo BISCHOFBERGER, President of the Council of States

14:00 - 15:00 Federal Department of Finances:

Mr Ueli MAURER, Federal Councillor Mr Peter SCHWENDENER, Vice-Director, Section Fiscal Policy, Fiscal Equalisation, Financial Statistics FP, Federal Finance Administration Ms Daniela STOFFEL DELPRETE, Ambassador / Diplomatic Adviser, Swiss Federal Department of Finance FDF

- 15:30 16:30 Swiss Federal Supreme Court:
  - Ms Monique JAMETTI GREINER, Judge, Federal Supreme Court, Substitute member of Switzerland to the Venice Commission
- 17.00 18.00 Independent Expert:
  - Prof. Dr. Reto STEINER, Member of the Group of Independent Experts
  - Dr. Claire KAISER, Deputy Head of Institute at the Swiss Institute for Public Management in Bern

## Wednesday, 25 January 2017 Zürich, Oetwil an der Limmat

Joint meeting with the Ombudsman of the Canton of Zurich and Ombudswoman of the

<ul> <li>10:30 - 11:30 Canton Council of the Canton of Zurich:</li> <li>Mr Rolf STEINER, President of the Canton Council of the Canton of Zurich</li> <li>Ms Karin EGLI-ZIMMERMANN, first Vice-president</li> <li>Ms Yvonne BÜRGIN, Second Vice-president</li> <li>Mr Moritz VON WYSS, Head of parliamentary service</li> <li>Mr Christian GYGER, Public relations officer</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Ms Karin EGLI-ZIMMERMANN, first Vice-president</li> <li>Ms Yvonne BÜRGIN, Second Vice-president</li> <li>Mr Moritz VON WYSS, Head of parliamentary service</li> </ul>
12:15 - 13:15 City of Zürich:
<ul> <li>Ms Corine MAUCH, Mayor of the City of Zürich</li> <li>Mr Roger BARTHOLDI, President of the City Parliament of Zurich</li> <li>Mr. Peter KÜNG, Vice-President of the City Parliament</li> <li>Mr Jürg SCHEIDEGGER, Head of the Departemental Secretariat of the Finance Department</li> <li>Mr Christof MEIER, Head of the Integration Office</li> <li>Ms Christina WANDELER, Deputy Head foreign affairs office</li> </ul>
14:30 - 15:30 Government Council of the Canton of Zurich:
<ul> <li>Jacqueline FEHR, Head of the Department of Justice and Home Affairs, member of the Swiss delegation to the Congress</li> <li>Mr Arthur HELBLING, Head, Office of Municipalities, Department of Justice and Hom Affairs</li> <li>Mr Basilius SCHEIDEGGER, Head, Finance Administration, Department of Finance</li> <li>Dr Luzia LEHMANN, Head, Office of External Relations, Chancellery</li> <li>Ms Seline FISCHBACHER, Deputy Head, Office of External Relations, Chancellery</li> </ul>
16:00 - 17:30 Municipality of Oetwil an der Limmat:
<ul> <li>Mr Paul STUDER, Mayor (Gemeindepräsident)</li> <li>Mr Walter BÜHLER, Vice-Mayor (Vizepräsident)</li> <li>Mr Erwin BÜHLER, President of the Audit Commission (RPK-Präsident)</li> <li>Mr Pierluigi CHIODINI, Municipal Secretary (Gemeindeschreiber)</li> </ul>

09:00 - 10:00

City of Zurich: